Sweater project~ Adding Sleeves

With my narrow shoulders, I decided to double check the length and use a safety pin marker for my shoulder length. The safety pins on the shoulder seam mark the placement for where to place the sleeves at the end of the shoulders. I chose to knit the sleeves from the armhole down to the cuff. For the sleeve stitching, I started at the armhole underarm by inserting the crochet hook into each stitch  around the armhole. Creating stitches and slipping the stitches onto the knitting needle, while at the same time adjusting for my shoulder length. Since I was already diverting from the original pattern and I desired tighter sleeves, I took detailed notes of my changes for both sleeves to turn out the same. This involved counting/math and a few rip outs to get the desired shape and size I wanted.

using crochet hook to create stitches for sleeves

using crochet hook to create stitches for sleeves

sleeve stitches added, beginning of round at armpit marked with a safety pin

sleeve stitches added, beginning of round at armpit is marked with a safety pin

round 2 of the sleeve beginning, using yarn row marker

round 2 of the sleeve beginning, using yarn row marker

The yarn row marker is made up of a large yarn loop with knots spaced apart the size of the needle. Each loop between the knots is a row. I will add a safety pin at the end for each time I am doubling the number of loops to keep track of the rows.

ready to switch to smaller needles at cuff

ready to switch to smaller needles at cuff

smaller size needle and double point to continue knitting in the round to the end

smaller size needle and double points to continue knitting in the round to the end

Sleeve is completed!

Sleeve is completed!

Ready to knit and complete the second sleeve. Almost done :)

Keep on with your project~

 

Leave a Reply

