Knitting Project Update: Fitting + Threading Cording

My sweater is coming along. I will share more adaptive techniques in this blog post and future ones as I let you journey through the process of this sweater with me. For me the slow knitter, I have decided to knit the whole sweater body in the round utilizing a few unconventional techniques to speed up the process and to keep the flow of the variegated green color pattern. Did I mention I like variegated colors and textures in yarns because they camouflage the inconsistent tension of my knitting? I am loving the color pattern which I would now describe as mist flowing between lush green rolling hills filled with colors of blue-greens and a hint of yellow-greens. Here is a photo for a glimpse of the colors.

img_1219

Fitting or checking the size of the sweater

To double check the diameter of the sweater, so the sweater size around will be to my liking, I wanted to try on the beginning or the bottom of the sweater. Since the round knitting needle is shorter than my diameter I measured a length of rat-tail cording bigger than my measurements, to transfer the stitches onto for the fitting. I chose rat-tail cording for it’s smooth surface to not get entangled in the mohair fibers. Next I threaded the cording into a yarn bent-tip needle. I used the finger method, although there are yarn needle threaders that might work.

Threading a needle with cording

I can hear the question now- What is the “finger method” or how do you thread cording into a needle non-visually without a needle threader?

Answer: Lay the first 3-inches of cording across the side of your index finger. Place the eye of the needle on top of the cording. Gently, yet firmly rub the needle back and forth once or twice over the cording. Be patient if it does not work on the first time or two, keep trying till you get it. The rubbing should cause the cording to push through the eye like a hill coming up through the eye. Take the hill with your fingers or a pin to pull the loop/hill all the way through the eye. Your needle is now threaded. At the opposite end of the needle tie a safety pin onto the cord end to help keep the cording from pulling all the way through when pulling the cord through the stitches. Here is a photo to show what I just described.

img_1221

Once the needle is threaded, place the yarn needle against the underside of the knitting needle to thread through or catch the stitches. The cording glides more easily through the fibrous stitching by being against the knitting needle. Remove the knitting needle as the stitches are transferred to the cording. Here’s a photo to show my description.

img_1209

After all the stitches are on the cording I tied the cording ends together leaving extra length for the stretch. Then I tried the piece on to figure if I liked the fit. Next I took off the beginnings of the sweater and threaded the knitting needle back through the stitches being held by the cording. Once all the stitches were back on the knitting needle I removed the cording.

Since the diameter of the sweater was fuller than I wanted, I decided I would decrease a few stitches at the sides where I have the yarn markers. Marking these decreases with safety pins, emphasizes the imaginary side seams. This helps me to know where the changes to the pattern shape are. I also made notes for future sweater creations.

How are your winter projects coming along?

Resources

Knitting Guild of America

“Threading a needle” see Appendix in “Needle Arts with Vision Loss” books

“Needle Arts with Vision Loss: How to Enjoy Needle Felting Without Sight
” by Shireen Irvine Perry. Sample or purchase Needle Arts with Vision Loss: How to Enjoy Needle Felting Without Sight: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/415878

“Needle Arts with Vision Loss: How To Enjoy Making Braided Rugs Without Sight” by Shireen Irvine Perry. 
Sample or purchase Needle Arts with Vision Loss: How To Enjoy Making Braided Rugs Without Sight: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/415873

“Needle Arts with Vision Loss: How to Enjoy Machine Sewing Without Sight”, 
Sample or purchase Needle Arts with Vision Loss: How to Enjoy Machine Sewing Without Sight: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/530511

or Print version https://store.bookbaby.com/book/Needle-Arts-With-Vision-Loss-How-to-Enjoy-Machine-Sewing-Without-Sight-POD

Leave a Reply

