Q & A: What winter projects are you working on?

Since I am doing some traveling this winter, I decided I needed a warm lightweight sweater to coordinate with my traveling wardrobe of greens, burgundy and navy.

Looking through my yarn stash I found some beautiful hand dyed variegated green mohair yarn that has been waiting for about 15 years for me to make something. This yarn with large US size 13 or 9mm, needles for knitting in the round became my plan for the sweater to progress more quickly. Since I had a sweater I already liked in cotton that became my pattern inspiration for a cropped, funnel neck, long sleeve sweater. I found a Rowan pattern by Marie Wallin, “Marsh” that I adapted for my use.

Here is the start of the project:

varigated green mohair yarn project

Variegated green mohair yarn in a basket showing knitting in the round of two rows. Yarn loop markers for the two sides that will line up with the sleeves armpit.

Knitting varigated green mohair in the round. Sweater body started

About 2-inches of knitting in the round. I am liking how there is a pattern that is more swirl and no stripes.

Next week I will share some adaptive blind techniques I have used with my students over the years.

Till next time keep enjoying your needle arts projects in the making with or without sight.

Leave a Reply

