Inspiring Resources

Ribbonerie at 3695 Sacramento St. in San Francisco is one of my favorite places for a varied selection of beautiful ribbon. Paulette, the owner, has ribbon of all types and colors displayed in vintage ribbon display cabinets, shelves and baskets. Amongst these cabinets one will find a great selection of colors and varied widths to choose from in three of my go to types of ribbon, silk ribbon, French wired ribbon and Petersham. Petersham can be shaped with its flexibile edge in a way that grograin ribbon does not. I like to use Petersham for my skirt waistbands or waist facings. I have noticed designers use this ribbon in skirts and dresses to back zippers for a more comfortable feel against ones skin and a more finished look on the inside of the garment. For those of us who like to wear hats, both the Petersham and wired ribbon make into beautiful embellishments on our hats.

Two of my favorite books for manipulating ribbon are The Artful Ribbon by Candace Kling and The Art of Silk Ribbon Embroidery by Judith Baker Montano. I use both books for instruction and inspiration when teaching students or doing my own pieces when working with French ribbon or silk ribbon for embellishing. I recommend Candace’s fun and inspiring classes. Her site for more info is www.candacekling.com

Use the adaptive hand sewing techniques mentioned in my books or Blog Q & A, along with these two books to have fun working with ribbon.

Keep on enjoying needle arts without sight!

Leave a Reply

