Discovery: Alabama Chanin

It is always fun to discover a new resource to help with a Needle Arts project. If my students don’t want to cut their own strips of cotton knit jersey used in knitting, crochet or braiding, this material is available out of organic cotton in about 52 color choices from Alabamachanin.com.

I picked up one of Natalie Chanin’s books, “Alabama Studio + Design” this last weekend. What an inspiring resource! So inspiring that I started exploring her company website. This is where I discovered in the menu tab “Shop Studio Style DIY” then in “Fabric + Sewing” tab, the yarn balls or cotton knit ropes among other items to use in Needle Arts projects.

These yarn balls are similar to what I make with my students when I teach them knitting or crochet using larger knitting needles such as size 13 or 15 and crochet hooks size P or Q.

With my students, we usually take old T-shirts. Cut them into 1-inch or wider strips using a template as a guide to cut the strips evenly. The template is held to the fabric with office clips. Then we connect the strips together with stitching or the interlocking technique I describe in my book, “Needle Arts with Vision Loss: How to Enjoy Making Braided Rugs Without Sight”.

 

Go to the Book Series menu tab on my site to find my book in MP3 format or to link to Smashwords for the e-book format.

 

Possible projects to make with cotton knit yarn whether knitting, crochet or braiding: headbands, mats or rugs, washcloths, baskets, embellishing or ties in garments.

 

Be creative and keep on enjoying needle arts without sight!

2 thoughts on “Discovery: Alabama Chanin

Leave a Reply

